Selena Gomez, if she had stayed in Texas: ‘I’m sure I’d have two children by now’

 

Selena Gomez covers the December 2012 edition of Glamour Magazine. It’s a beautiful photo shoot – somehow the magazine managed to make her look like a young woman in her late teens. Ordinarily, Selena looks about 12 years old to me. But in this shoot, she could pass for 17, maybe. I think it’s mostly about the makeup and the styling. I won’t say anything about her seemingly larger bust… when I was 20, I went up a bra sizenaturally too. As for the interview… well, I actually think Selena is a very bright girl, so I usually like her interviews. She’s always seemed like she’s wise beyond her years. Some highlights from the Glamour piece:

On her childhood in Texas, being raised by a single mom: “I definitely didn’t appreciate [my upbringing] when I was little. I was frustrated that my parents weren’t together and never saw the light at the end of the tunnel where my mom was working hard to provide a better life for me. I’m terrified of what I would have become if I’d stayed there. I’m sure I’d have two children by now.”

More on Texas: “I love the people, and I’m glad I grew up there. It’s because of [my mom] that I can do things on my own. I like being professional. I like showing up on time. I like being good to people, and I know that I’m reflecting her at the end of the day.”

Looking back on her 15-year-old self: “I was so scared and so shy back then. I mean, I grew up in one of the biggest high schools in the world, and that’s theDisney Channel. Everybody was falling in love with each other or not liking each other, and it was exhausting. I was the shy one in the corner. Now I’m so opinionated, and I don’t have time for the cattiness. I have good people around me, and I’m glad I’m at the place I’m in. I wish I was there back then.”

On Taylor Swift: “I actually did talk to Taylor last week, and we were like, ‘I don’t even remember the last time I saw you,’ which is really unfortunate. But if [life] gets too dire, I fly to Taylor or I fly home or I fly to Justin.”

On negativity: “If I had let all of the negative stuff affect me, I don’t think I would be satisfied with the person I am now. That’s what I tell my fans: If you’re miserable with everything going on in school, that is so not going to matter the moment you leave. My mom always told me, ‘Just turn the other cheek and keep moving forward.’ That’s something I’ve always done, and now I look back and I have no regrets.”

[Via Us Weekly & The Mail]

See what I mean? Unlike some of the child stars-turned-Young-Hollywood-douches, I think Selena actually knows what it was like to be poor, to develop her work ethic, how to support herself and the people around her. But… quite honestly, I think I would like her a lot more if she wasn’t with Justin Bieber. I sometimes wonder if his douche isn’t rubbing off on her in some ways. But I guarantee… whenever Selena and Justin are really done with each other, Selena will still have a career, and she’ll find someone cool to date. *fingers crossed*

Leave a Reply

