Katy Perry on her support for gay marriage: “Thank God we’ve evolved”

Katy Perry

Katy Perry covers this weekend’s issue of Parade magazine with a patriotic theme because of the upcoming Fourth of July holiday, which coincides with the release date for Katy’s sure-to-be annoying 3-D concert movie, Part of Me. Between Katy’s premiere looks and the fact that she’ll be trashing Russell Brand in the movie, I’m ready for this film to come out and then go away in very short order. Of course, Part of Me will sell millions of tickets, and this will only fuel Hollywood’s apparent, misguided desire to turn Katy into a movie star because she’s so pretty. In this Parade interview, Katy discusses various topics including why she insisted upon including her breakup in the film (and she gets in a little dig about “the universe“) as well as her thoughts on gay marriage:

On why she’s featuring her breakup in the movie: “I think if people walked out of the theater and that was completely avoided, they would be like, ‘Well, there’s an elephant in the room that’s still there.’ I like to go out there looking like a strong woman, because I am strong. But I am also a woman who goes through all kinds of problems and highs and lows. I wanted to show the completespectrum.”

Despite being addressed in the film, the breakup is understandably a sensi­tive subject for Perry. She refers to it only as “the situation”-as in, “I’m very aware that it’s inappropriate to give too much away, and that really the situation is just between two people.” When it’s noted that she and Brand have been respectful of each other in the media, she responds cryptically, “The universe will have its way.”

Katy’s “musical collaborator” Bonnie McKee on “Wide Awake”: “When we wrote ‘Teenage Dream,’ it was really about your first love and how magical that is. I think Russell made her feel that way again, and she felt she had found the person she was going to spend the rest of her life with. And whenthat didn’t turn out to be what she’d hoped, it kind of made sense to talk about waking up.”

On her concert movie: “There are a lot of things that are personally uncomfortable to show, especially me without makeup and completely bloated or crying. But I’ve realized that it’s time for me to show my audience that you don’t have to be perfect to achieve your dreams. Because nobody relates to being perfect. … I’m okay with having bad dance moves. I’m okay with having horrible lower teeth. That’s what makes me me, and for some reason it’s worked out all right.”

On her reaction to Obama’s support of same-sex marriage: “I was really happy; I probably went down to West Hollywood and had a shot. I came from a different mind-set growing up, and my mind has changed. My viewpoint on all these things-equality for women, the choice to love anyone you want-hopefully, we will look back at this moment and think like we do now concerning [other] civil rights issues. We’ll just shake our heads indisbelief, saying, ‘Thank God we’ve evolved.’ That would be my prayer for the future.’”

On her patriotism: “Not to sound overly cheesy but I really appreciate the freedom we have in America-especially as a female.”

[From Parade]

I’m not sure whether Katy truly thinks her fans would be upset if she ignored the topic of her marriage or if she’s merely providing a lame justification for including it in the movie. In related news, TMZ has a rather hilarious photo of billboard vandalization in which someone has defaced an advert for Russell’s upcoming FX show by spraypainting, “I would rather watch the Katy Perry movie.” Seriously?

As for Katy’s (relatively) newfound support of gay marriage, I guess that’s one area where she actually had her head on straight. Or maybe she’s just trying to appeal to the gay audience. If she’s willing to throw her own estranged husband under the bus, then I can see her pandering to any demographic possible just to sell movie tickets. Maybe I’m being too suspicious though.

So far, Parade has only released Katy’s cover shot, so here are some promotional photos for Part of Me that show her in a “quirky” flag outfit.

Katy Perry

Katy Perry

Photos courtesy of Parade and AllMoviePhoto

Leave a Reply

