Kris Jenner put Kim Kardashian on birth control when Kim was 14 years old

Yesterday, I did a summary of some of the highlights of Oprah Winfrey’s interview with the Family Kardashian-Jenner. As you might imagine, the majority of the interviewseems to be with and about Kim, although Khloe and Kourtney were allowed to speak at times. Well, Oprah (or OWN, same difference) released another clip from Oprah’s two-part Famewhore Exclusive, and this one is a doozy. I feel like a lot of people are going to be yelling about this, and… you know what? I think I’m going to have end up defending Kim Kardashian.

Kim Kardashian, in the first of a two-part interview on Oprah’s Next Chapter, said she was “almost 15″ when her mother Kris Jenner got her on birth control.

Kim said the parenting decision came as a result of her desire to explore her sexuality with her boyfriend, a family friend.

“When I did want to have sex the first time I was almost 15,” Kim said, adding her liberal mom was open to discussion about the topic, and even got her on birth control.

She continued: “I was like, ‘I think I’m going to, or I want to,’ and she was like, ‘OK, so this is what we’re gonna do, we’re gonna put you on birth control,’ and she was like, really open and honest with me.”

The revelation came as a surprise to the veteran journalist Oprah, who said, “Wow,” before moving onto the next question.

[Via Radar and The Mail]

So… Kim was almost 15 when Kris Jenner put her on birth control – I’m assuming Kim means The Pill. And Kim and Kris talked about Kim’s teenage sex life openly and honestly. So… what’s the controversy? Isn’t this the kind of decision that you want a mother and a teenage daughter to make together, without the intervention of anyone else? I think that in this ONE issue, Kris Jenner is completely blameless, and I’d even venture to say that this is an example of Kris being a great mother.

…Of course, critics of this “open and honest, let’s put our teenage daughters on The Pill” parenting method will probably draw a direct correlation between Kim being put on the pill and her sex tape. Right? I’m always so bad at predicting what will irk the anti-birth control league, but I feel like someone is going to make the link – “The Pill = Sex Tape, Famewhoring, Reality Programming”. And I don’t have an answer to that, except to say that I wish more teenage girls had parents who discussed birth control with them in honest and realistic terms, and that The Pill doesn’t have to equal a sex tape.


Leave a Reply

