Kim Kardashian’s wedding wasn’t for ratings: ‘We don’t do anything for ratings’

These are new photos of Kim Kardashian, Kris Jenner and Kanye West in Paris over the weekend. Because why not? Why not go on vacation with your boyfriend and your mother, and why not invite the paparazzi to document your every movement, including a very public car trip in the white Lambo you bought for your boyfriend? Oh, Kanye. I’m worried about you, dude. I think you’re in too far. I think Kim is going to get pregnantand it will be a MESS.

Anyway, as I’m sure you’ve heard, Kim and the Kardashian-Jenner family had a sit-down interview with Oprah. Which speaks volumes about Oprah’s efforts to save her failing OWN network, and how far Oprah has fallen. Over the course of the past five days, I’ve seen excerpts from the interview, but I didn’t care much. So let’s go through some highlights:

Kim on whether Kris Jenner is a “pimp”: “I think that’s so ridiculous,” Kim said. “First of all, we have to hire a manager. So regardless, someone is going to get that [job]. No one will fight harder for you than your own mother,” she added. “She knows us. She knows all of our moods…We just get each other. We vibe. It works.”

Would the Kardashians be successful if they weren‘t “good-looking kids?”: “Well,” Rob started, pointing to his three older sisters. “They’re not, like, skinny women.” (Khloé, of course, put her little bro in check, asking, “Who are you?” and sarcastically telling him, “You’re so sweet.”) Then Kim said: “But I don’t think [our success] would’ve happened if we were all like skinny, pretty models,” Kim reasoned. “I think it has to do with us, the curves, the dark hair!” She also thinks that the sisters “helped broaden” the representation of Middle-Eastern women in mainstream media, giving them a niche role as they rose to fame.

On Kim’s sex tape and how it started her career: “You know, I think that’s how I was definitely introduced to the world… It was a negative way, so I felt like I really had to work ten times harder to get people to see the real me. I have to live with the choices I have made. And I can’t dwell on it.” Shooting down the long-lived rumor she released the tape herself, she says she’s always been concerned about “humiliating the family.” When it was released, she said, she turned to her mom, panicked. It was a “really bad day” mom Kris Jenner recalls. “No mother ever wants to hear something like that,” Jenner said earlier in the interview. “I could tell she was in a lot of pain.” Still, she told her daughter, “We can get through anything.”

Whether or not her marriage to Kris Humphries was for ratings: “We have an amazing fan base that watches the show — we don’t do anything for ratings. I was in love: I wanted the life that I always pictured my fairytale life to be. I would’ve had an extravagant wedding anyway, to end that relationship was a risk in itself to lose ratings and I had to take the risk to be honest to myself.” She said that while everything was great in the beginning, the bloom quickly came off the rose after she and Humphries moved in together. “I saw how our relationship was,” she said. “I don’t want to get into the small things, but once we moved in, I knew he was not the one.”

Kim was depressed: “I was in such a deep depression I thought I was going to back away from everything,” she said. “I stayed at home for almost four months and I’m a better person now, as heartbreaking as it was to go through. I loved him, obviously it hurt him, and it hurt me too. It was embarrassing, I don’t want to call it a mistake, it was a lesson.”

Kim on Kanye: “I always dated five years younger,” Kim, 31, said. “My whole thing was completely different, and now I just love that I’m with someone that’s a couple years older than me. I love that my friends are even sometimes 20, 30 years older than me.”

[Via Radar, People, E! News]

I’m okay with Kim’s answers on the Kris Humphries questions – although Kim and her family profited heavily from the wedding and everything, I do think Kim is telling some version of the truth. My take has always been that Kim simply wanted to be married and she didn‘t care who she was marrying, and she didn’t think Kris Humphries would end up being such a douche. I’m not defending her – she’s an idiot. But I don’t think she plotted this huge wedding debacle simply to get herself more attention.

But I am bothered by her dumb non-denial answer on the sex tape question. She always wants to see herself as the victim in that situation, and I don’t think anyone is buying it.

Leave a Reply

